Yes, another Klairs product for review. I find that pretty much everything in the line works to fulfill their claims, and I’ve granted one of them status as my favorite toner (see my review of the Klairs toner). Although, they seem a bit redundant to use all at once in one routine (see my review of the Klairs serum). So, when I saw the Klairs Midnight Blue Calming Cream at a discount of $3.99 from .08Liter in exchange for a review, I jumped on it. A deep discount for a product I had already been eyeing and wanting to review? DONE!

I’ll be honest and say that I had (slowly) used several foil packet samples of this cream before, usually on pimples or a patch of irritated skin. Wishtrend is pretty generous with handing out Klairs samples, so I have tried pretty much everything in the line, I think. I even saw that Klairs is going to have a serum version of this cream coming out soon!

So, read on to find out if this was a hit or a miss for me.

 

Klairs Midnight Blue Calming Cream

Cosdna analysis

IMG_2597
That striking blue is a natural color!

The cream comes in a nice sturdy glass jar (30ml), and a small spatula for hygienic purposes.

 

The Claims:

“. . .We wanted to design the optimal product for the few customers who were still experiencing irritations from external stimuli with additional skin concerns. After a long term of researching with the R&D team, the KLAIRS’s Midnight Blue Calming Cream was created to go that extra mile. As a cream that helps calm & strengthen barriers in extremely sensitive skin, when used with the soothing line, it works rapidly to soothe and regulate irritated (by heat or sebum), stressed skin. Although the KLAIRS’ Midnight Blue Calming Cream is used for targeting smaller areas, It’s designed with excellent spreadability so a small amount could cover a large area.” (Klairs via Wishtrend)

The cream is meant to be a spot treatment for irritated skin and is not moisturizing enough on its own to be a final cream.

Let’s take a look at the ingredients:

Water, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Caprylic/Capric , Triglyceride, Centella Asiatica Extract, Sorbitan Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Glyceryl Stearate, Stearic Acid, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Ceramide 3, Polysorbate 60, Bees Wax, Chlorphenesin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl, Acrylate Crosspolymer, Morus Alba Root Extract, Triethanolamine, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Guaiazulene, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Lecithin, Acetyl Glutamine, SH-Oligopeptide-1, SH-Oligopeptide-2, SH-Polypeptide-1, SH-Polypeptide-9, SH-Polypeptide-11, Bacillus/Soybean/Folic Acid Ferment Extract, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol

  • Sodium Hyaluronate: A powerful humectant that draws water to the skin.
  • Centella Asiatica: an anti-oxidant rich extract that helps soothe the skin.
  • Shea Butter: contains anti-oxidants and fatty acids that improve dry skin
  • Ceramide 3: helps replenish/strengthen outer layers of skin
  • Guaiazulene (0.03%): This is actually the star ingredient–it is the same raw material used in burn ointments. It is a soothing antiviral, anti-inflammatory extract from chamomile oil.

This is a pretty great ingredient lineup to calm and soothe irritated skin.

 

The (Personal) Evidence:

The cream’s striking blue color comes naturally from the guaiazulene. It’s a soft, creamy gel-like cream that absorbs quickly and the blue color disappears as quickly as it does.

IMG_2587
Seriously. It’s the most beautiful product I own.

It layers nicely under subsequent products. So, it is fine to use day or night. The jar seems small at 30ml, but you don’t need much when you use it, so it usually lasts awhile.

Ahem.

Unless you go and try to burn your face off like I (accidentally) did. Trust me, I was not planning on putting this cream through such an extreme test. In my defense, I had been on pain meds for a sprained neck and apparently thought, “Hey! Let’s see what kind of damage I can do to my face!”

Ugh. I’m embarrassed to even type this out. But, here’s what happened: Sunday evening, I foolishly used the Skinfood Black Sugar Scrub on my face, which is a physical exfoliant that basically takes off any dead skin cells on top, leaving a fresh layer of skin ready to absorb products even better.  Then, a few products later, I used The Ordinary’s Advanced Retinod 2% on my face.

I KNOW.

I can hear you all wincing from here. I still have no idea what I was thinking. Luckily, this is a very, very weak retinoid or I wouldn’t have a face left. (If you’re unfamiliar, retinoids and retinol are incredibly powerful derivatives of Vitamin A used for anti-aging effects that cause burning, itching, and redness for the first month or so of use. Just Google image search “retinoid side effects.” Or don’t. Especially if you’re eating.)

A few hours later, my face turned red. Like, “stand in the sun all day with no sunscreen” kind of red. I dabbed on some Klairs Midnight Blue Calming Cream and hoped for the best.

Monday was still rough. My whole face looked red and irritated. This time, I slathered on the Klairs calming cream in the morning, reapplied midday, and then again that night. My face was still red and irritated when I went to bed.

IMG_2560

 

But then. But THEN. When I woke up on Tuesday, I could not believe how much the redness had faded.

IMG_2561

Even after patting on my morning routine, my skin was so much calmer. I continued slathering on the Klairs cream after my Liquid Gold.

By Wednesday morning, my skin was pretty much back to normal.

IMG_2586
At least the redness distracted from my big ol’ pores.

Now, I won’t give all the credit to the Klairs cream—I was using a variety of soothing products—but I definitely slathered it on more than any other product, so I’m comfortable saying it played a very large role in the speediness of my skin healing. The cream feels soothing going on, which was a relief for my poor red lobster face.

So, will I buy this product again?

Rating Scale: 

  • Did you not read the review? Yes, of course. I will spend all of my money on this product!
  • Yes. I enjoy this product enough to purchase again in the future, especially if it’s on sale.
  • Meh. Maybe. I mean, I bet there are other, better things out there. I’d use it if someone gave it to me.
  • No. I won’t use this again and will probably bad-mouth it to others.
  • Hahahahaha. Nope. Noooooooope. Not even if you paid me.

The Verdict: Did you not read the review? Yes, of course. I will spend all of my money on this product!

I will not be without this amazing cream in my skincare basket, that’s for sure. And really, given how long it will normally last (as long as I don’t burn your face off again), I’m willing to shell out full price ($25) for the next jar.

 

Where you can buy it:

 

Leave a Reply

