Sorry I’ve been away for awhile. Work has been relentless, and I attended a conference about a week ago, which was wonderful, but naturally put me behind. I’m mostly caught up now and thought it was about time that I reviewed two products that I’ve been using for a couple of weeks now: the Leaders Labotica Argan Oil Deep Cleansing Tissue and the Labotica Green Tea Lip & Eye Point Remover. Leaders, a brand whose sheet masks I use regularly and love, sent these to me to review.


When Leaders first contacted me about about reviewing these cleansing tissues, I was intrigued, especially the eye and lip makeup removers. While I love oil cleansing, I have been wearing eyeshadow much more consistently as of late and hated how I felt like it was being pushed all over my face with the oil cleanser. I had been using a micellar water and cotton pad, but that didn’t always remove everything.

So, how do I feel about these? One I love and one I’m neutral about. Which is which? Read on to find out!

Labotica Argan Oil Deep Cleansing Tissue

The Claims:

“Formulated with argan oil, these deep cleansing tissues softly remove make up and dead skin cells while cleansing and nourishing the skin. Treats: dead skin cells, dry and rough skin and depleted skin. Effectiveness: removes make up and cleans the skin, nourishes skin and provides intense hydration.” Ulta.com

Let’s take a look at the ingredients:

Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil (500ppm), Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Bupleurum Falcatum Root Extract, Chaenomeles Sinesis Fruit Extract, Ficus Carica (Fig) Fruit Extract, Polysorbate 20, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Cocamidoproply Betaine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Citric Acid, Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Caprlyl Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Hexandiol, Sodium Benzoate, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance

  • Argan oil: has several great lipids and fatty acids for skin, (such as oleic acid, palmitic acid, and linoleic acid) and is also a good source of vitamin E and other antioxidants
  • Papaya Fruit Extract: a light exfoliant for the skin
  • Aloe: known for soothing skin

The wipes themselves are made of a soft cotton.

img_2059
It’s quite gentle on your skin.

The (Personal) Evidence

My first experience with these wipes was an unfortunate one. I decided to bring them to the conference with me since they seemed good for traveling. On the day I arrived, I had been driving, it was a long day, and my skin was feeling particularly tight and dry. I wanted to just wash my face quickly before grabbing dinner. A perfect time to try the wipes: I could wash my face quickly and easily.

Well.

Immediately, my t-zone and chin became extremely red. Mr. Sir was with me and was also alarmed. I followed it up with my regular oil cleanser, which helped, and then a few soothing products. I took a Benadryl and used a cold sheet mask later that night, and the redness subsided by the next morning.

Needless to say, I was wary of trying them again. Still, I recognized that I hadn’t had a regular skin day, so I bravely (for science! for you!) tried them again a few days ago. Aaaaannnd…….

It was fine. My makeup came off easily and my face didn’t burst into flames. I used one again last night as a pre-cleansing step (a pre-cleansing cleanser, if you will. The triple cleanse) and the only thing that happened is that my face had no makeup on it anymore.

The wipes don’t dry my skin at all, although I will note that the directions on the back state to “thoroughly rinse off with warm water.” Don’t forget that step!

Each tissue is well wetted (totally a technical term) and will not dry out since the top snaps shut and stays shut. While there is a scent, it just smells like a generic fresh, clean smell. These travel well and would be great for the gym or for people on the go.

So, will I buy this product again?

Rating Scale: 

Did you not read the review? Yes, of course. I will spend all of my money on this product!

Yes. I enjoy this product enough to purchase again in the future, especially if it’s on sale.

Meh. Maybe. I mean, I bet there are other, better things out there. I’d use it if someone gave it to me.

No. I won’t use this again and will probably bad-mouth it to others.

Hahahahaha. Nope. Noooooooope. Not even if you paid me.

The Verdict: Meh. Maybe. I mean, I bet there are other, better things out there. I’d use it if someone gave it to me.

Truthfully, I like these wipes, but I haven’t found a real need for them in my routine. This is hardly their fault, though, so I’m sure those of you in the market for a good cleansing wipe will love these. I’m thinking that they may come more in handy this summer when I’m at the gym more.

 

Labotica Green Tea Lip & Eye Point Remover

The Claims:

“Infused with green tea extract, these round cleansing tissues from Leaders gently remove makeup in the sensitive areas around the eyes and lips. This non-irritating formula provides deep cleansing and hydration for the areas that need it most!” Ulta.com

Let’s take a look at the ingredients:

Water, Mineral Oil, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polysorbate 80, Glycerin, Tripropylene Glycol, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Extract, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Fruit Extract, Eucalyptus, Globulus Leaf Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Caprylyl Glycol, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Citrus, Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil

These cleansing rounds have a variety of fruit and herbal extracts have a bunch of antioxidant and skin-soothing properties.

The (Personal) Evidence

I love these wipes. They have a lovely fresh scent, are extremely well wetted (see, I told you it was a thing), and clean off my eye makeup completely.

What I like the best about them is that I can use them while I still have my contacts in, and I don’t worry about them messing them up. The green tea cleansing tissues also don’t sting and leave my eyelids feeling softer and hydrated. I simply take one of the rounds, hold it on my eyelid for a few seconds, and then gently wipe. There’s no tugging or pulling on the thin, delicate skin around my eyes. The makeup comes off easily.
In addition to my eye makeup, I like that these pads remove my most stubborn lip stain. I’ve tried these against Colour Pop and my theBalm liquid lipsticks and it removes them easily. Plus, like my eyes, they leave my lips feeling hydrated, which is really nice if I’ve been wearing a particularly drying lipstick.

Here’s a lovely photographic demonstration: I have on my Clio Killbrow Tatoo pen for the eyebrow, a Clio eyeliner in black for the eye, and some various Urban Decay eyeshadows from the Smokey Eye Palette. They were drawn on top of the Urban Decay eyelid primer, just to give them some staying power. The lips are courtesy of theBalm’s Meet Matt(e) Hughes in Loyal. I drew these on, waited about 10 minutes, then used the wipe on them.

img_2057
I never said I was an artist.
img_2056
I left this on for the time it took to pick up my phone and take a photo. 
img_2055
This is from one very gentle swipe of the tissue. I’m not sure if you’ve ever used a Clio product, but the “tattoo” in the name is right. This is an awesome result!
img_2054
Again, one very gentle swipe. 
img_2053
All clean!

 

This pack is smaller and doesn’t have the snap shut opening, but the adhesive on the stick has continued to work well, and I doubt the tissues would dry out before you got the chance to use them.

I have a feeling these will be a staple of my school year skincare routine. In the summer I tend to wear less eyeshadow, but I will probably keep a pack around for when I do.

So, will I buy this product again?

Rating Scale: 

Did you not read the review? Yes, of course. I will spend all of my money on this product!

Yes. I enjoy this product enough to purchase again in the future, especially if it’s on sale.

Meh. Maybe. I mean, I bet there are other, better things out there. I’d use it if someone gave it to me.

No. I won’t use this again and will probably bad-mouth it to others.

Hahahahaha. Nope. Noooooooope. Not even if you paid me.

The Verdict: Yes. I enjoy this product enough to purchase again in the future, especially if it’s on sale. (These are cheap enough that I’m not worried about a sale.)

As a side note, I bought another pack of eye cleansing tissues from another company, just to compare. (Hey, I’ve been out of the cleansing tissue game for awhile.) Well, they didn’t compare. At all. Hands down, the Labotica Green Tea Lip & Eye Point Remover Cleansing Tissues are the superior product.

 

Where to purchase:

Ulta.com

Leaders.com

One thought on “Review: Leaders Labotica Argan Oil and Green Tea Cleansing Tissues

Leave a Reply

