Tracy over at Fanserviced-b reviewed the A’pieu Madecassoide Cream a few days ago, which reminded me to get my ass in gear and review my two favorite, stellar  A’pieu products, their Pure Medic Provatamin-B5 Lotion and Pure Medic Provitamin B5 Intense Cream. (It also made me want to buy the A’pieu Sea Buckthorn Cream! Gah. She is the enabler-in-chief.)

I first stumbled onto the A’pieu Pure Medic Provitamin-B5 lotion when I got a random sample of it in a Jolse package way back in December. I usually set aside my small packet samples and promptly forget about them or gift them to AB-curious friends. This time, for some reason, I decided to give it a try. I don’t quite remember, but I’m guessing that it had something to do with the plain, medicinal-like packaging, and the phrase “dry and sensitive skin.” (My face had been dry and itchy due to the terrible Midwest winter, and I was desperate to try any and every lotion and cream.)

I remember that the plain-Jane look of the packaging surprised me because up until that point, I had always associated A’pieu with tweeny-bopper products: cutesy, bright labels with fluffy clouds and impossibly adorable barnyard animals. (And yes, I realize how old I sound. Mentally, I’m about 85.) I do have a nice “finger blusher” (aka–liquid blush you apply with your fingers) that I like from A’pieu, but that’s not exactly a ringing endorsement for a cream. Needless to say, I was a bit skeptical, but READ ON DEAR READER.

A’pieu Pure Medic Provitamin B5 Purity Lotion and A’pieu Pure Medic Provitamin B5 Intense Cream

IMG_1575.jpg
Can you feel the goodness radiating from them?

Lotion CosDNA analysis

The cream hasn’t been entered into Cosdna yet, but I’ll list ingredients for both so you can see the few differences between them.

The Claims

Much like the packaging for this lotion and the cream, the claims are pretty simple and found on the front of each bottle:

  • Real Moisturizing & mild prescription
  • Strengthens the skin’s barrier
  • Soothing effect for sensitive skin
  • For Dry and Sensitive Skin

The Jolse ad also notes that they’re “5 Free” : Artificial flavoring, parabens, sulfates, artificial colors, mineral oil

Let’s take a look at the ingredients.

IMG_1580

A’pieu Pure Medic Purity Lotion Ingredients: Water, Octyldodecanol, Glycerin, Hydrogenated C6-14 Olefin Polymers, Panthenol, Pentylene Glycol, Chondrus Crispus Extract, Saccharum officinarum (Sugar Cane) extract, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Nymphaea Alba Flower Extract, Polysorbate 60, Sorbitan Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Stearic Acid,Palmitic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Tromethamine, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Ceramide NP, Cholesterol, Squalane, Dimethicone, Oleic Acid, Tocopheryl acetate, Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols, Dipropylene glycol, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Butylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol

 

IMG_1576

A’pieu Pure Medic Cream Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric triglycerides, Propylene glycol, Shea butter, Butylene Glycol, Coconut oil, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Panthenol, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Nymphaea Alba Flower Extract, 1,2-Hexanediol, Polyglyceryl-3 Methylglucose Distearate, PEG-40 Stearate,Glyceryl Stearate, Polysorbate 60, Dimethicone, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tromethamine, Polyacrylate-13, Stearic Acid, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Polyisobutene, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ceramide NP, Cholesterol, Polysorbate 20, Sorbitan Isostearate, Squalane, Ceteareth-20, Oleic Acid, Tocopheryl acetate, Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Cetearyl Alcohol, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol

The ingredients lists look fantastic. They’ve got

  • ceramides for helping replenish/strengthen outer layers of skin
  • squalene for moisturizing and replenishing fatty acids and antioxidants
  • panethanol (the alcohol form of provitamin B5) for attracting and binding water while boosting your skin’s moisture barrier function
  • tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E) for antioxidants
  • macadamia seed oil for moisturizing

The biggest difference between the two is that the Intense Cream also has shea butter and coconut oil.

(As always, be aware of your personal acne or irritant triggers and spot test before using anything on your whole face.)

The (Personal) Evidence:

So, when I first used the sample, I couldn’t believe how soft and moisturized my face stayed all day. Usually, it was tight and itchy by 4pm, when I couldn’t wait to get home and oil cleanse my face. Here’s a screen cap of the message I sent my friends the first day I used the sample:

Screen Shot 2017-03-11 at 4.00.45 PM
lol. Look at me, throwing around the term HG like it actually means anything. (“Holy Grail” products, I’m coming to believe, probably aren’t actually something I should worry about. But that’s a topic for another post.)

The next day I did an experiment while I still had some of the sample left:

I used the Klairs Rich Moist cream on half my face and the A’pieu Pure Medic B5 Purity Lotion on the other half. I then covered it all with the Cosrx Soothing Aloe Sunscreen. According to my detailed message to my friends, the A’pieu side, which I used on the side of my face that used to have a stubborn dry patch, was softer and more hydrated than the Klairs side, and my makeup had not caked/flaked where it usually did.

Still, trying to be an adult (hahahahaha), I held out buying the cream and lotion, believing I had “enough.” A few weeks later, I realized that my moisture barrier needed help and then, hello Tester Korea order!

It’s a little hard to see in this photo, but the lotion is thinner than the cream. They both spread easily and only a little is needed.

IMG_1578
The lotion is on the top and the cream is on the bottom. 

The products say they’re for dry and sensitive skin and I agree. They have a very light citrus scent when first applied, but it fades quickly. They also absorb incredibly fast.

IMG_1579
This is my hand immediately after rubbing both the lotion and the cream into my hands, which took about 10 seconds.

They each have a nice soothing/cooling effect similar to the Klairs Rich Moist cream. In fact, I would say that if you’re on a tight budget, these are a great dupe for the Klairs, cost a fraction of the price, and you get a lot more of them.

Granted, the ingredients lists are different, but the A’pieu products seem have fewer potential acne triggers and potential irritant flags than the Klairs, and they do not contain hyaluronic acid for those who are sensitive to that. (But the coconut oil can be a big trigger for some people.) Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the Klairs lotion–it’s the one I compare all other creams to. But if you’re looking for other options, these might be it.

In terms of usage, those with oily/combo/normal skin can easily just use the lotion, especially during the day. It absorbs easily, quickly, and wears well under sunscreen. When I was trying to repair my moisture barrier, I did layer the Klairs cream over it, although it’s only slightly thicker than the A’pieu lotion. The A’pieu cream is much thicker and I only use it at night.

Both of these have been an integral part of the great Moisture Barrier Repair of early ’17. I knew I wanted to review these because I haven’t seen much love for them on the interwebs, aside from me running around the AB sub-Reddit telling everyone who asks about creams about them.

So, will I buy these products again?

Rating Scale: 

Did you not read the review? Yes, of course. I will spend all of my money on this product!

Yes. I enjoy this product enough to purchase again in the future, especially if it’s on sale.

Meh. Maybe. I mean, I bet there are other, better things out there. I’d use it if someone gave it to me.

No. I won’t use this again and will probably bad-mouth it to others.

Hahahahaha. Nope. Noooooooope. Not even if you paid me.

The Verdict: Yes. I enjoy this product enough to purchase again in the future, especially if it’s on sale.

I know, I know, I’m sure after that rave review you were expecting that I would spend all of my money on these. But I don’t have to because these are pretty cheap! haha.I highly recommend these for people on a budget who are looking for ingredient-rich creams and/or who want a product to help them repair their moisture barrier.

Depending on where you look, you can get these for between $10-15/bottle.The cream is 150ml and the lotion is 210ml, so they’re a bargain. (Do NOT buy these on Amazon. People are asking $23 for one bottle WITHOUT Prime shipping! That’s crazy!)

I think because they’re newish, I’m not seeing them available in a ton of popular US sites for k-beauty. So, here are two Korean sites I’ve used and trust. (If you see these for sale elsewhere, go ahead and link in the comments!)

Jolse: Lotion or Cream

Tester Korea: Lotion or Cream

What are your favorite products that don’t seem to get much hype?

5 thoughts on “Review: A’pieu Pure Medic Provitamin-B5 Purity Lotion and Intense Cream

  1. Helpful Blog! We appeared to be just discussing there are lots screwy outcomes at the issue you now purely changed my very own belief. Thank you really significantly a perfect write-up

    Like

    1. Since I don’t really have acne prone skin, I can’t say for sure. It isn’t terribly thick and it doesn’t clog my pores, but I would recommend reading the ingredient list for any of your skin’s triggers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

