For the first 24 years of my life, I lived in Wisconsin. Cheese is a staple of pretty much every meal there. It isn’t a holiday unless there’s a cheese and sausage platter involved, and let’s not forget that people there love cheese so much that they wear large cheese-wedge shaped hats

I think it was this love of cheese that brought me to purchase the incredibly named Mizon Natural Breath Cheese Repair Cream.

img_0984
Do I put it on my face or spread it on a cracker?

 

Just kidding! I totally bought this because it sounded sort of gross. Perhaps this is one of those “lost in translation” names, but “natural” and “breath” are two unfortunate words to stick next to “cheese.” I mean, I’ve had loads of cheese breath (Kaukauna Port Wine cheese spread is my everything), but I don’t necessarily want that to describe a substance I’m putting on my face, you know?

Still, I know that fermented ingredients are actually quite good for the skin–my Missha FTE has a very distinctive yeasty smell that I quite enjoy and it makes my skin glow. So, I decided, for the sake of my Wisconsin heritage, and so you wouldn’t have to, to try the Mizon Natural Breath Cheese Repair Cream.

Cosdna analysis (Please read the ingredients carefully. Don’t use this product if you have an allergy or sensitivity to any of these ingredients, even if everyone else in the world LOVES this product.)

The Product Claims:

“Mizon’s Natural Breath Cheese Repair Cream is a high performance, anti-wrinkle cream.  It’s main ingredient, cheese, has been through a long fermentation process which vitalizes and tightens skin.  Prevents skin from aging and nurtures skin’s viability. ” (Beauteque.com)

Because this is so beautiful, I want to share the original ad for the cream:

mizon_011_02
This would look at home in any Wisconsin store. Literally any. They sell cheese curds in gas stations.

The main (FRENCH!) cheese involved in this cream is quark, which is basically like a cottage cheese, although my very in-depth read on Wikipedia (haha) tells me that its classification as a type of cottage cheese varies by region in Europe.

Apparently, this cheese provides Vitamins A, B1, B2m, and E, which promotes collages production, improves wrinkles, and gives your skin elasticity. Exciting!

Take that lactose intolerant people and vegans! (Calm down, Mr. Sir is a vegan and since he cooks 95% of my meals, I’m practically a vegan. Except when I’m slathering cheese all over my face.)

The (Personal) Evidence:

Mine didn’t quite look as light and airy as it does in the ad above. I got one with a manufacture date of 2014 (eek!), so it had been sitting around, getting extra fermented. While it looks whipped, like it would be a lighter consistency, it is actually a thicker, denser cream.

img_0979

The container is made of nice heavy glass, which surprised me for a $15 cream.

The big question on your mind, I’m sure, as was on mine, is how does it smell? I sort of wanted a dairy smell at the same time I was also afraid it might have one.

Sadly, Luckily, Leaving me feeling conflicted, it does not.

The Mizon cheese cream does have a scent: it’s very light, almost floral, actually. I was worried a bit since the scent stuck around after I rubbed it on my hand. However, I don’t notice it on my face. Perhaps my layer of sunscreen covers it.

The cream feels nice and light on the skin, and absorbs quickly.

However, the Mizon cheese now I’m hungry cream is simply not moisturizing enough for my skin right now. (I would have scheduled a summer testing date, but that manufacturing date made me move it to the top of my list.) I tried to use it at night, with one of my heavier sleeping packs over it, but I woke up with white patches of dry skin.

Sorry, (FRENCH!) quark cheese, you are no match for a Midwest winter. Perhaps this cream would have been heartier if they had used a Wisconsin cheddar.

For those of you in more habitable climates, I will note that the cream seemed to work fine under my sunscreen and makeup, which was a plus. I didn’t notice any fine lines going away, but I really only tested it a week before I had to stop using it. So far, it has worked well as a moisturizer for my body. I think it would be a fine spread on crackers cream for the summer.

 

So, will I buy this product again?

Rating Scale: 

Did you not read the review? Yes, of course. I will spend all of my money on this product!

Yes. I enjoy this product enough to purchase again in the future, especially if it’s on sale.

Meh. Maybe. I mean, I bet there are other, better things out there. I’d use it if someone gave it to me.

No. I won’t use this again and will probably bad-mouth it to others.

Hahahahaha. Nope. Noooooooope. Not even if you paid me.

Verdict: Meh. Maybe. I mean, I bet there are other, better things out there. I’d use it if someone gave it to me.

(To be honest, I might be allowing my love of cheese to influence my rating here. But whatever. It’s MY blog.)

 

I just realized that my first two reviews are of Mizon products and neither are exactly glowing recommendations. So, I want to state, for the record, that I really like the Mizon brand. Their products are affordable and about 80% of my first routine was from Mizon. So, don’t discount them!

Are you interested in trying any fermented cheese skincare products?

Leave a Reply

